Republic of Indonesia usually called Indonesia is an archipelago in Southeast Asia and located between 2 Continents (Asia and Australia) and 2 Oceans (Pacific and Indian). Island in Indonesia is approximately 17,508 islands with 5 (five) largest islands, namely Sumatra, Java, Borneo, Sulawesi and Papua.

Geographically, as an archipelago which lies in between continents and oceans, Indonesia shares not only maritime but also land borders with other countries. Indonesia shares maritime borders across narrow straits with Singapore, Malaysia, and Philippines to the north, and with Australia to the south. For the land borders, Indonesia has 2 (two) islands which shares the borders with other countries. Borneo Island shares the borders with Brunei Darussalam and Malaysia, further Papua Island share the border with Papua New Guinea.

Nowadays, Indonesia has 34 provinces with around 240 million people and is the worlds fourth most populous. This population spreads over the islands but mostly spread in Java. The industry sector is the economy's largest and accounts for 46.4% of GDP (2010) among Indonesia population, this is followed by services (37.1%) and agriculture (16.5%). However, since 2010, the service sector has employed more people than other sectors, accounting for 48.9% of the total labor force, this has been followed by agriculture (38.3%) and industry (12.8%).

Intellectual Property Rights introduced in Indonesia by Dutch occupation at the beginning of 1844. Dutch government enacted the Trademark law in 1885, Patent law in 1910 and Copyright law in 1912. Further, when Japanese occupied Indonesia in 1942-1945, the regulation is remain the same and still in force. However, when Dutch re-occupied Indonesia, only Trademark and Copyright Law which is still exist. The Dutch of Patent law is no longer applied.

Indonesia government had been enacted and amended Intellectual Property Law several times after its independence. Patent Law was regulated in Law No 6 of 1989 and amended by Law No 14 of 2001. Copyrights Law was regulated in Law No 6 of 1982 further amended by Law No 7 of 1987, Law No 12 of 1997 and Law No 19 of 2002. Trademark Law was regulated in Law No 21 of 1961 and amended by Law No 19 of 1992, Law No 14 of 1997 and Law No 15 of 2001. In addition, as the TRIPS agreement ratified consequences, Indonesia government also enacted other Intellectual Property Rights Law for other field, namely: Law No 30 of 2000 for Trade Secret, Law No 31 of 2000 for Industrial Design, Law No 32 of 2000 for integrated circuit and Law No 29 of 2000 for Plant Variety.

At the moment, Intellectual Property Rights become one of the popular issues since it is related with other countries and most of countries in the world connected by international trading. Indonesia as a developing country has a big interest regarding Intellectual Property Rights Protection since Indonesia economy sector leads by the industry and trading sector. By giving the protection to Intellectual Property Rights field, international investors would feel safe and protected to invest their investment.